Community heroes to be recognised this Australia Day

  • 8 January 2024

Hundreds of individuals, groups and events will be recognised for their contribution to their respective communities this Australia Day, as councils around WA hold their 2024 Community Citizen of the Year Awards Ceremony.

For more than 20 years, the Community Citizen of the Year Awards have been celebrating those who go above and beyond for their local community, with awards presented to the Community Citizen of the Year, Young Community Citizen of the Year, Senior Community Citizen of the Year and to a Group or Event (Active Citizenship Award), following nominations from the public. This year, the Awards received a record number of nominations.

Join your local community to celebrate those who make it better. See below the list of councils that will be recognising local community leaders and volunteers on Australia Day. Enquire with your local council for award ceremony details and how to attend.

The 2024 Community Citizen of the Year Awards are made possible thanks to the Australian Government through the National Australia Day Council, and are proudly supported by Principal Partner, Department of Communities, and Media Partners 9 News Perth, 6PR Perth and WAtoday.

Councils holding Community Citizen of the Year Awards Ceremony on Australia Day 2024

  • City of Albany
  • City of Armadale
  • Shire of Ashburton
  • City of Bayswater
  • Shire of Boddington
  • Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes
  • Shire of Broome
  • City of Busselton
  • City of Canning
  • Shire of Carnarvon
  • Shire of Chittering
  • City of Cockburn
  • Shire of Cue
  • Shire of Cunderdin
  • Shire of Dardanup
  • Shire of Derby/West Kimberley
  • Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup
  • Shire of Dundas
  • Shire of East Pilbara
  • Shire of Esperance
  • Shire of Exmouth
  • Shire of Gingin
  • Shire of Gnowangerup
  • City of Gosnells
  • City of Greater Geraldton
  • Shire of Harvey
  • Shire of Irwin
  • City of Joondalup
  • City of Kalamunda
  • Shire of Katanning
  • Shire of Kellerberrin
  • Shire of Lake Grace
  • City of Mandurah
  • City of Melville
  • Shire of Merredin
  • Shire of Moora
  • Shire of Morawa
  • Shire of Murray
  • Shire of Narembeen
  • Shire of Narrogin
  • Shire of Northam
  • Shire of Perenjori
  • City of Perth
  • Shire of Plantagenet
  • Town of Port Hedland
  • Shire of Ravensthorpe
  • Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale
  • City of South Perth
  • City of Stirling
  • City of Swan
  • Shire of Three Springs
  • Shire of Toodyay
  • Shire of Victoria Plains
  • Shire of Wagin
  • Shire of West Arthur
  • Shire of York


Councils holding Awards Ceremony on alternate date

  • Town of Cottesloe – 27 January
  • Shire of Dandaragan – 4 February
  • City of Fremantle – 23 January
  • Shire of Manjimup – 22 January
  • Town of Mosman Park – 27 January
  • City of Nedlands – 25 January
  • Shire of Peppermint Grove – 27 January
  • City of Rockingham – 27 January
  • Shire of Waroona – 25 January
  • Shire of Wyalkatchem – March
Back to news