Programs & Initiatives

The Australian of the Year Awards

The Australian of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate our diversity and honour an exceptional group of highly-respected Australians.

The Australian of the Year is a program of the National Australia Day Council. Each year our nation celebrates the achievements and contributions of eminent Australians through the Australian of the Year Awards by profiling leading citizens who are role models for us all. They inspire us through their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating an inclusive, harmonious and more resilient Australia.

The Awards honour an exceptional and diverse group of highly-respected Australians  who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

The Australian of the Year Award recognises individuals from four categories:

  • Australian of the Year
  • Senior Australian of the Year
  • Young Australian of the Year
  • Australia’s Local Hero

The National Australia Day Council Board selects the Australians of the Year from the group of 32 State and Territory recipients. The prestigious year-round program culminates in the announcement of the national Award recipients in Canberra on Australia Day Eve.

Visit the official Australian of the Year website for more information about the history of awards, how to nominate, key dates and criteria.