Celebrate local community heroes this Australia Day

  • 11 January 2023

This Australia Day, Western Australians can support their local community leaders and volunteers, with the announcement of the 2023 Community Citizen of the Year Awards.

Almost 70 councils across the State will be announcing their outstanding residents in the categories of Community Citizen of the Year, Young Community Citizen of the Year, Senior Community Citizen of the Year and Active Citizenship (Group or Event). See below which councils will be holding their awards ceremony on 26th January and enquire directly to find out where and what time so you don’t miss it!

This year, the Department of Communities are supporting the Community Citizen of the Year Awards as Principal Partner. Thanks to their support, more amazing people can be recognised for doing great things for their community. The Awards are also supported by Media Partners 9 News Perth, 6PR Perth and WAToday.

Find out more about the Community Citizen of the Year Awards here:

Councils announcing Community Citizens of the Year on Australia Day 2023

  • City of Albany
  • City of Armadale
  • City of Bayswater
  • City of Busselton
  • City of Cockburn
  • City Of Fremantle
  • City of Gosnells
  • City of Greater Geraldton
  • City of Joondalup
  • City of Kalamunda
  • City of Mandurah
  • City of Melville
  • City of Nedlands
  • City of Perth
  • City of Rockingham
  • City of South Perth
  • City of Stirling
  • City of Swan
  • Shire of Ashburton
  • Shire of Boddington
  • Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes
  • Shire of Broome
  • Shire of Carnarvon
  • Shire of Chittering
  • Shire of Coorow
  • Shire of Corrigin
  • Shire of Cue
  • Shire of Cunderdin
  • Shire of Dardanup
  • Shire of Derby/West Kimberley
  • Shire of Donnybrook Balingup
  • Shire of Dundas
  • Shire of East Pilbara
  • Shire of Esperance
  • Shire of Exmouth
  • Shire of Gingin
  • Shire of Gnowangerup
  • Shire of Harvey
  • Shire of Irwin
  • Shire of Katanning
  • Shire of Kellerberrin
  • Shire of Koorda
  • Shire of Kulin
  • Shire of Lake Grace
  • Shire of Manjimup
  • Shire of Merredin
  • Shire of Morawa
  • Shire of Murray
  • Shire of Narembeen
  • Shire of Narrogin
  • Shire of Northam
  • Shire of Peppermint Grove
  • Shire of Perenjori
  • Shire of Plantagenet
  • Shire of Ravensthorpe
  • Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale
  • Shire Of Three Springs
  • Shire of Toodyay
  • Shire of Victoria Plains
  • Shire of Wagin
  • Shire of Waroona
  • Shire of West Arthur
  • Shire of Wyalkatchem
  • Shire of Wyndham East Kimberley
  • Shire of York
  • Town of Cottesloe
  • Town of Mosman Park
  • Town of Port Hedland
Back to news