Ambassadors to reflect, respect and celebrate with communities this Australia Day

  • 9 January 2023

This Australia Day 2023, 23 Ambassadors will share their inspiring stories to 25 local council communities across WA.

These Ambassadors volunteer their time and energy to inspire social and cultural inclusion and a sense of belonging to our national identity. They may partake in dog judging competitions, morning teas and sausage sizzles, citizenship ceremonies, as well as helping to present the Community Citizen of the Year Awards.

There are seven new Ambassadors this year, including finalists and recipients of the Community Citizen of the Year Awards and Australian of the Year Awards.

WA Australia Day 2023 Ambassadors

Shire of Esperance – Conrad Liveris

Shire of Broome – Craig Hollywood

City of Cockburn – Darryl Davenport

City of Canning – Dean Morris

City of Joondalup – Hon Graham Edwards AM

Shire of Katanning – Holly-Ann Martin OAM

Shire of Toodyay – Jan Standen

City of Gosnells – Janine Wood

Shire of East Pilbara – Jenny Lam

Shire of Capel – Professor John Newnham AM

Shire of Wagin – Julian Pace

City of Greater Geraldton – Ken Gibbons

Shire of Corrigin – Nahrel Dallywater

Shire of Northam – Nilesh Makwana

City of Subiaco – Paul Litherland

City of Albany – Priya Cooper

Shire of York – Prof Ralph Martins

Town of Cottesloe (in conjunction with Shire of Peppermint Grove and Town of Mosman Park) – Dr Sandy Chong

City of Busselton – Shelley Taylor-Smith

City of Mandurah – Steph Jackson

Shire of Narembeen – Suzy Urbaniak

City of Stirling – Thea Kurniawan

Shire of Derby/West Kimberley – Vince Garreffa


Back to news