2021 WA Australian of the Year Award recipients announced

  • 23 November 2020


2021 WA Australian of the Year – Professor Helen Milroy

2021 WA Senior Australian of the Year – Dr. Richard Walley OAM

2021 WA Young Australian of the Year Award –  Grace Forrest

2021 WA Local Hero Award – Rebecca Prinz-Ruiz

The 2021 WA Australian of the Year Awards Ceremony was held on 12th November 2020 at a new venue The Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Perth. After a significant and successful nomination campaign, the four winners for the 2021 awards representing the best of Western Australia were announced. These awards are considered Australia’s most prestigious, and we were pleased to share the experience with Chevron Australia, the National Diversity and Inclusion Partner of the Australian of the Year Awards. To view their profile and find out more on the inspiring work that they do, click here.

The event began with an exclusive VIP pre function overlooking The Bell Tower where finalists were congratulated, and presented with their certificates by the Governor of WA, the Hon Kim Beazley AC and the Hon Roger Cook MLA, Deputy Premier of WA .

An Aboriginal Smoking Ceremony welcomed 270 guests as they arrived for the Chevron Australia Welcome Reception. Guests enjoyed socialising and networking with the WA Australian of the Year Award Finalists, Alumni and sponsors followed by a special Welcome to Country including local aboriginal dancers who weaved through the crowd and were accompanied by a didgeridoo player. Auspire CEO Morgen Lewis introduced an address by the Hon. Steve Irons MP who then welcomed Chevron Australia Managing Director Al Williams to deliver his sponsor’s address followed by the launch of the first Chevron Australia and Australian of the Year Awards partnership video.

Guests moved into the Ballroom where the Awards Ceremony commenced with an inspiring rendition of the Australian National Anthem and This is the Moment by WAAPA students The ceremony was successfully live streamed which was helpful as due to COVID guest numbers were limited this year so many people missed out on attending the event itself. Each of the four WA recipients were humble and deserving winners and we wish them the best of luck for the National Awards in January.

Back to news