Western Australian Nominees Announced For 2021 Australian of the Year Awards

  • 11 November 2020

The nominees for the WA Australian of the Year Awards include doctors and scientists, a rural tourism ambassador, the founder of Plastic Free July, an Aboriginal arts and culture leader, a young advocate for voluntary assisted dying and the man who urged Australians to support healthcare workers during COVID-19.

They are among 16 people in the running to be named the state’s Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year. The nominees are among more than 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

The 2021 WA award nominees are:

2021 WA Australian of the Year

Professor William M Carroll – Leading neurologist

Professor Helen Milroy – Australia’s first Indigenous doctor

Emeritus Professor Chemmangot Nayar – Clean energy pioneer

Clinical Professor Mark Newman – Cardiothoracic surgeon


2021 WA Senior Australian of the Year

Marion Blackwell AM – Environmental scientist and landscape architect

Ron Manners AO – Miner, businessman and philanthropist

Ngarralja Tommy May – Painter and printmaker

Dr Richard Walley OAM – Champion of Aboriginal culture


2021 WA Young Australian of the Year

Grace Forrest – Founder and director of Walk Free

Ashleigh Small – Founder of Hello Initiative

Dylan Storer – Journalist and social advocate for climate action

Belinda Teh – Advocate for voluntary assisted dying


2021 WA Local Hero

Denise Brailey – Consumer advocate

Christopher Doohan – Creator of Adopt A Healthcare Worker campaign

Annette Green – Tourism Ambassador, The Australian Silo Art Trail

Rebecca Prince-Ruiz – Founder of Plastic Free July

Check out their individual bios here.

The WA award recipients will be announced in the official Chevron Australia Welcome Reception and Australian of the Year Awards Ceremony in Perth, Thursday 12 November 2020.

The ceremony will also be livestreamed online and we encourage you all to tune in and cheer on your fellow West Aussies.

The WA award recipients will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2021.

Auspire – Australia Day Council WA Chairman Bradley Woods said, “Once again our Western Australian nominees do us proud. These 16 inspiring individuals are thought leaders and change makers for the benefit of others and we are honoured to acknowledge them through these most prestigious awards.”

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit

Back to news