Inspiring Australians to visit WA communities this Australia Day

  • 9 January 2024

A number of award recipients and community leaders within Auspire’s Inspiring Australians’ Network are preparing to visit towns and cities around WA this Australia Day, as Australia Day Ambassadors to inspire people with their personal Australian stories.

More than 400 events organised by local government and communities around Australia will host an Ambassador, with 22 Australia Day Ambassadors in WA sharing their perspectives about what it means to be Australian, recognising the opportunities that living in Australia and being Australian offers.

These Australia Day Ambassadors will take part in various activities within the community, such as giving keynote addresses, presenting the Community Citizen of the Year Awards, helping serve barbecue breakfasts, judging competitions and celebrating with new Australians at citizenship ceremonies.

Council events may be public or by invite only, so we strongly recommend checking with your local council directly to find out more.

Where Ambassadors will be visiting in WA to support Australia Day 2024

City of Albany – Sarah Yates

City of Bayswater – Ken Gibbons

Shire of Broome – Krista Dunstan

City of Canning – Jeffrey Effendi

Shire of Capel – Nahrel Dallywater

City of Cockburn – Vince Garreffa

Shire of East Pilbara – Jimmy Murphy

Shire of Esperance – Nilesh Makwana

City of Gosnells – Jack Anderson

City of Joondalup – Janine Wood

Shire of Katanning – Conrad Liveris

City of Mandurah – Paul Litherland

City of Melville – Lueth Garang

Town of Mosman Park in conjunction with Shire of Peppermint Grove and Town of Cottesloe – Kendall Whyte (27 January)

Shire of Narembeen – Steph Jackson

City of Nedlands – Asha Bhat (25 January)

Shire of Northam – Dr Pedus Eweama

City of Stirling – Graham Edwards

City of Subiaco – Thea Kurniawan

Shire of Toodyay – Dean Morris

Shire of Wagin – Naveed Ahmed

Shire of York – Yogi Kanagasingam



Back to news