Who will be the next Australian of the Year?

  • 30 June 2020

The Australian of the Year awards in now in its 60th year. It’s arguably our country’s most prestigious award and over the years we’ve had many West Australians recognised with our nation’s top honour across four categories. From Fiona Wood to Craig Challen; Fred Chaney to John Newhnam, Akram Azimi to Samantha Kerr. Western Australians are continuing to lead the way and shine a light on our nation’s greatest achievements and make progress in the causes close to our hearts.

Nominations are now open for the 2021 Awards and it’s simple to nominate online.


The Western Australian division of the Awards will be announced in November, with the WA recipients heading to Canberra in January for the National Awards ceremony.

The Australian of the Year Awards is supported in WA through the generous support of the WA State Government as the WA Division partner and to Chevron Australia, as the National Diversity and Inclusion partner. Thanks also to long-standing Auspire partners Lavan, Fogarty Wines, Westcare, UWA, Attained, Kiosk, Deloitte, Gerard Daniels and the Office of Multicultural Interests.

One nomination is all it takes to find the next Australian of the year. Nominations close 31 July. Visit

If you need assistance with languages other than English or would like support with your nomination contact us

Back to news